By Mireynna Hernandez, age 11

Thirteen U.S. states and Puerto Rico are opposing President Trump’s decision to leave the Paris Climate Agreement.

“It’s hard to grasp the mortal danger that climate change represents,” California Governor Jerry Brown told the Los Angeles Times in July. Brown, along with New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and Washington Governor Jay Inslee, have founded a coalition called the United States Climate Alliance to fight climate change on the state level.

Inslee told The New York Times, “Our states will move forward, even if the president wants to go backward.”

Cities like Boston, Chicago, Pittsburgh and Los Angeles have also joined the effort.

New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio said the city would honor the Paris Climate Agreement after Trump said the United States would leave. Foreign governments like Mexico, China, Germany and Canada have also supported the states’ efforts to oppose Trump’s decision.

On a state-by-state and voluntary basis, these efforts may make it more likely to meet the goals initially set out by the agreement.